The Hypocrisy of Cycling

The Lance Armstrong situation is the sign of how low the world of cycling is. I mean, seriously, you are going to strip the man who single-handedly raised cycling from nothingness in the United States to something of his titles, then the sport, as a whole, needs to be disavowed. Seriously: it is time to invoke ghost protocol.

And by disavowed, I mean the sport needs to be destroyed, and when the last remnants have been burnt and buried, then they need to raise it up again. This time, though, they need to institute strict drug testing.

Unfortunately, they can’t do that, since it’s not profitable. Consequently, I am done with it. I am serious. If cycling comes up on Sportscenter, I am muting the television. If I see it on NBC Sports, I am changing the channel. I don’t give a crap about it.

The sport needs to realize it is inherently dirty; I’m serious when I say that I have more faith that East German athletes were not going steroids than cyclists aren’t today.

So what, Armstrong used PEDs. The problem with targeting him is that it is selective enforcement; I don’t see these groups going after other cyclists. The reason they have been dogging him for all these years, the reason why he stopped fighting (without actually admitting anything), is that he is the big man of American cycling, and there is nothing more disgustingly American than tearing a hero down and bringing him back to Earth.

I get that he used PEDs. However, what “purists” need to realize is that their sport is dirty, and if Armstrong is guilty, then so are the bulk of his competitors, and the last fifteen Tour de France champions are all guilty, so be consistent.

In short, it really pisses me off.

About brettryanclu

I reside in California, and I am a graduate from California Lutheran University, where I received my Masters in Public Policy and Administration. I like to write, talk politics, and exchange comments and opinions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

