Sports Hop Winter 2012 edition

Been off a long, long time. Here we go.

1. Nick Saban complains about Florida going to the Sugar Bowl

Nick Saban is publicly complaining that Florida, which missed its shot at the SEC Championship game, will likely be the SEC representative for the Sugar Bowl over the loser of the championship game. Talk about hypocrisy.

Last year, Saban benefited from not playing in the SEC Championship for the same reason Florida is this year: you can’t lose, ergo your stock can’t fall. Alabama rode that horse to the BCS title last year.

In other words, by Saban’s own logic, he should not have been in the BCS title game last year. I guess when you have something serious to lose, you choose to complain. Nice one.

2. A few NFL players ask Peyton Manning for an autograph. 

Jamaal Charles and Dwayne Bowe asked Peyton Manning for a photo and an autograph after the Broncos beat the Chiefs. Some people are pissed. Why?

Considering that Bowe is in a contract year and Charles is the bright spot for the Chiefs, I have no doubt they are playing their hearts out. Charles’s mom is a Peyton Manning fan, and in his position, I probably would have done the same thing.

Finally, this happens all the time. There’s nothing wrong with it, and quite frankly, I think it shows respect for the opposition, as well as good sportsmanship.

3. Manti Te’o for Heisman

One of my biggest grudges against the Heisman trophy is that it always goes to offensive players. That needs to change, and this is the perfect year to open the door on it.

Manti Te’o is that magic ingredient that drove Notre Dame to the BCS title game this year; their offense stuttered (seriously I didn’t know any of their offensive guys’ names until I read this Skip Bayless article) as often as it soared, and Te’o, the quarterback of the defense, kept the opposition from taking advantage of it.

While I think it’s too early to call him the “next Ray Lewis,” I do believe in him; Johnny “Football” has had a great year, but give Te’o the Heisman for holding his team together and bringing them to the top of the mountain.

Why I support Notre Dame

Nine out of ten years, I hate Notre Dame. Even now, I will not say I am a fan. However, I support Notre Dame, and furthermore, I believe in Notre Dame. I believe that those young men see in themselves the opportunity to restore the golden dome to its once great glory.

Furthermore, as much as I cannot stand Notre Dame’s arrogant attitude about its past glory, “traditional” independence (which as evidenced by their new agreement with the ACC is becoming increasingly impractical), and this desire to win now, now, NOW, I hate the arrogance of the SEC even more. This idea that the SEC wants to control the BCS title game two years in a row led me to, temporarily, embrace the anti-SEC idea; in other words, I don’t care who plays in the BCS title game, so long as one of them is not from the SEC, and that team wins.

Notre Dame has had a magical year, and I support them, since watching them beat up on an SEC squad will be the most entertainment I have gotten out of college football in years. I’m seriously giddy just thinking about it.

About brettryanclu

I reside in California, and I am a graduate from California Lutheran University, where I received my Masters in Public Policy and Administration. I like to write, talk politics, and exchange comments and opinions.
This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

