Lance Armstrong: Why We Shouldn’t Care

ESPN and other sports news outlets want you to believe that Lance Armstrong’s admission of guilt regarding performance enhancing drugs is big news. It’s not. He’s a man who fell from grace, and is trying to rebuild his life. I don’t care, and neither should you. There is no point. Yet we all play along, watching the show like school children watching a fight on the school yard.

I personally feel that the world of cycling is dirty and corrupt, and they targeted Armstrong specifically; it is the ultimate hypocrisy to argue that his downfall made cycling “clean,” when it’s painfully obvious to anyone with eyes and a half functioning brain that it’s not. The only thing they was scapegoat the biggest cheater, and winner, on the alter of public relations; he’s American too, and although they may have salvaged something in Europe, they effectively killed broad American interest in cycling for several years.

Now, I’m not defending Lance Armstrong; the man is a bully, a liar, and a cheater. I’m not going to argue in his favor, because I stopped caring. It’s obvious to me that everything that has happened with him over the past decade has either been a manipulation or a lie from him, his camp, or his enemies, and his apology is no different. I don’t give a damn anymore because it’s so overdone; I don’t have a horse in the race of cycling because I don’t trust it. At least with American sports, they dealt with PEDs, and continually evolve to match the changing times; there isn’t a lingering stench of corruption from the top down. Olympic testing is brutal, and the consequences more so. Cycling is lagging so far back that MLB overtook them, and that’s saying something.

We shouldn’t care about Lance Armstrong’s apology because we shouldn’t care about Lance Armstrong. He’s made his money, he’s set for life; let him linger in obscurity and become a footnote. I don’t care about him, quite frankly, because I have more important things in my own life to worry about. So let him vent to Oprah: don’t watch it. Let him talk to every talk show that will take him: don’t care. He has his life, and a legacy that is tarnished to the point it will never be shiny again, even just a sliver.

Let him pass into history, because that is all he is now, history.

About brettryanclu

I reside in California, and I am a graduate from California Lutheran University, where I received my Masters in Public Policy and Administration. I like to write, talk politics, and exchange comments and opinions.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

